Skip navigation

Regional Maps

The Red River Valley of the North

This table lists the communities in and along the Red River Valley of the North and to the west in North Dakota where French-Canadians and French-language Michifs settled in the 19th Century

Communities in North Dakota with French Heritage

Bottineau County

Bottineau Russell
Butte Saint Paul Souris
Little Fargo & Parish of Ste-Genevieve Tarsus
Overly Willow City

Cass County

Horace Saint Benedict Wild Rice

Cavalier County


Foster County


Grand Forks County

Blooming Mekinock
Brenna Merrifield
Grand Forks Rye

Pembina County

Cavalier Pembina
Leroy Walhalla/St. Joseph

Rolette  County

Alcide Laureat
Belcourt Rolla
Carpenter, Jarves Rolette, Maryville, Thorne
Dunseith, Juno St. John/Saint Jean

Stark County


Walsh County

Grafton Oakwood

Communities in Minnesota with French Heritage

Mahnomen County


Marshall County

Argyle Oslo

Polk County

Crookston Gentilly
East Grand Forks  

Red Lake County

Brooks Oklee
Dorothy Red Lake Falls
Huot Terrebonne